Top 10 Universities in Australia

Spread the love

Australia is known for its vast serene environment comprised of endless tourist attractions from the Sydney Opera House to The Sydney Harbor Bridge. Recent statistics have also shown that Australia also takes pride to be among the top 20 countries to study in the world. The reason is, Australia has top universities, vibrant cities, tranquil oceans and beaches, and farfetched nature. These are just but a few reasons why many international students prefer studying in Australia. Universities in Australia provides top-notch education for its students who not only leave as high scholars but also self-developed.

Read more: 5 Easy Steps to Get a Scholarship

This article comes up with a list of the Top 10 universities in Australia to give you that Academic excellence you so yearn for.

Top 10 Universities in Australia

The University of Melbourne.

This is Australia’s leading University. The university has its main Parkville campus located just a short distance from Central Melbourne. Other campuses located around Victoria include; The Southbank campus, Burnley Campus, Dookie Campus, Creswick Campus, and Werribee Campus. There is 8900 academic and professional staff support in the university. The student population is slightly above 52000 with 13000 of them being international students from 130 different countries. The university’s symbol is the Victory of Nike and ‘grow in the esteem of future generations is their motto. Learning at the university allows you to choose your direction as you explore new options along the way. The university boast to be No.1 in Australia and 31st globally as indicated by times Higher Education.

UNSW Sydney

This public research university is located in the heart of Sydney, New South Wales, Australia. It was founded on 1st July 1949 and has over the years developed to be among the top universities in Australia. The university has a student population that is slightly above 68,000. It is also one of the founding members of the group of eight. The university offers various types of degrees that help boost your knowledge and also give you hands-on skills to propel you to your vision and achieve your goals. Types of degrees include; Undergraduate degrees, undergraduate double degrees, and post-graduate degrees.

The University of Queensland

The university is located in Brisbane, the capital city of the Australian state of Queensland. The University of Queensland is a leading research and teaching institution. The main mission of the university is to strive for excellence by incorporating creation, preservation, transfer, and application of knowledge to its esteemed students. It is the only university in Australia to have bagged the most national teaching awards. The university has skilled and motivated staff to provide a world-class teaching experience that is of 100% value to the learners. The university hosts a student population of close to 56,000 inclusive of 16,000 international students.

Monash University

Monash University, named after World War I general sir John Monash is a public research university. The university was founded in 1958 making it the second oldest university in Australia. The university has four thriving campuses all over Victoria city namely; Clayton, Caulfield, Peninsula, and Parkville. The university has also established one of the best teaching centers in Prato, Italy, and a state-of-the-art graduate research school in Mumbai, India. Monash University also offers some of the best research and learning facilities through its; Monash law school, Monash Science Technology Research, and Victorian College of Pharmacy. It is also a member of the group of 8 research universities. Recent research by QS World University Rankings ranked the university as the world’s top 55-70 universities.

The Australian National University

The university is located in Canberra, the capital city of Australia. It is also a public research university with the main campus in Acton. The main compass encircles close to seven research colleges and adds on some national academies and institutes. The university was established in 1946 and stands out to be the only university founded by the parliament of Australia. The student population is approximately 21,000 and has a staff of 3,753.  The university was recently ranked 27th by the 2022 QS world university rankings.

The University of Sydney

This spectacular university is a public research university based in Sydney, Australia. It was launched in 1850 and is the oldest university in Australia and recognized as a leading university worldwide. It is also a member of Sandstone University (Australia’s oldest tertiary education institution). It has eight faculties and university schools. The universities offers; bachelor, master’s, and doctoral degrees. Its motto is; ‘The stars change, the mind remains the same, true to its vision, it has been ranked as the top 25 universities by QS  world university rankings and also top 4 universities with graduate employability.

University of Technology Sydney

The University of Technology Sydney is located in the heart of Sydney, Australia. It is also a public research university with a student population of 46,328+ making it one of the world’s leading young universities.  UTS has its impact on many associations, such as; Australian Technology Network, The Association of Southeast Asian Institution of Higher learning, and the Association of Commonwealth universities. It also has several faculties such as; Faculty of Art and Social Sciences, Faculty of Health, Faculty of Law, Faculty of Science Etc. It is ranked as the 9th University in Australia. It is also home to 50+ research centers and institutes. The university’s main focus is; health, data science, sustainability, and future work.

The University of Adelaide

The University of Adelaide is based in Adelaide, South Australia. It was started in 1874 making it the third-oldest university in Australia. The university has four campuses, three are located in South Australia, Namely; North Terrace Campus in the city, the Roseworthy campus, and Waite Campus. The university has five faculties; Faculty of Engineering, Computer, and Mathematical Sciences, Faculty of Health and Medical Science, Faculty of professions, and Faculty of Arts. The university is also associated with the Sandstone universities.

University of Western Australia

UWA was established under the act of parliament in 1911. The university is the sixth-oldest university in Australia. The university’s motto is; Seek Wisdom.  Its main campus is based in Perth, the state’s capital. It is also associated with sandstone universities.  The university has five libraries on campus. It also has an architecturally recognized Reid Library.  All students are required to choose a three-year bachelor’s degree for any undergraduate level. UWA offers a Bachelor of Science, Bachelor of Commerce, Bachelor of Arts, and a Bachelor of Biomedical science.

Curtin University

Curtin University is located in Bentley, Perth, Western Australia. The university is named after John Curtin, Prime minister of Australia. The vibrant university has since diversified to other parts of the world such as; Singapore, Malaysia, Dubai, and Mauritius.  Curtin University is also an active member of the Australian Technology Network.  It takes pride to be the only university in Australia to have won the Australian Institute of Nuclear Science. The U.S News and World Report ranked Curtin University as the 174th globally and 10th Nationwide in top universities.

About Author

Leave a Comment